RMC Lay Leader Elections

Rocky Mountain Conference Lay Leader Elections

By conference rules, the election of one RMC conference co-lay leader will take place during the Laity Session at the Annual Conference Session in June 2018.

Laity in the Rocky Mountain Conference have elected to have two co-lay leaders. The co-lay leaders chair the Board of Laity and are members of several conference committees. Each leader’s term is for four years and the terms are staggered. This year, Kunle Taiwo is completing the fourth year of his second term, and Margaret Hotze is completing the second year of her second four-year term. Nominations for co-lay leader were accepted at the 2017 Annual Conference, and there is also opportunity for persons interested in the one co-lay leader position to submit their candidacy forms online until April 10.

Completed candidacy forms are due by April 10 and will be included in the pre-conference information for the 2018 Joint Annual Conference, so that the voting laity have an opportunity to familiarize themselves with the candidates before the election takes place. Please return completed candidacy forms by email to registration@rmcumc.com or mail to Shelley Rabern at RMCUMC, 6110 Greenwood Plaza Blvd., Greenwood Village, CO 80111-4803. Please also include a photo of yourself. Time will be allowed for those who were nominated at the 2017 Annual Conference and for those who have completed the Board of Lay Ministry approved candidacy form to address the laity session at 2018 Annual Conference where the election will take place. No late candidacy forms will be accepted, according to conference rules.

The job description of the conference lay leader position can be found in the 2016Book of Discipline, pages 419-420, Paragraph 607, and election procedure is described in the Annual Conference Standing Rules and Operational Procedures paragraph 2.6, pp M-20-22 of the 2017 Rocky Mountain Conference Journal.

A candidate shall have been a member of a local United Methodist Church for two years and active in the Rocky Mountain Conference for the previous four years.